SL Christmas Expo Sponsor Spotlight – Dekute Dekore

SL Christmas Expo Merchant Spotlight Interview with Debil Skute of Dekute Dekore

WE ARE DELIGHTED YOU CHOSE TO BECOME A 2016 SL CHRISTMAS EXPO SPONSOR! WHY DID YOU CHOOSE TO GET INVOLVED WITH RELAY FOR LIFE OF SECOND LIFE AND THE EXPO?
Well I guess that’s a 2 part answer. When I was young I lost my grandmother to cancer. So when I first heard about the RFL expos I thought it would be awesome to be able to contribute in her memory.
Then of course I thought it would be a good way to introduce my store to a wider group of people as I was just starting out and honestly I’m not the best at the advertising side of things. /chuckles
Fast forward to now, it’s just become a tradition for me and I can’t imagine not donating.

WHAT ARE SOME ACTIVITIES OR THINGS YOU ARE LOOKING FORWARD TO AT THE 2016 SL CHRISTMAS EXPO & WINTER BREEDABLES FAIR?
I really enjoy the Snowman Building Contest. It’s so much fun to see all the creativity of the community with their builds.

HOW LONG HAVE YOU BEEN IN SL? WHEN DID YOU OPEN YOUR BUSINESS?
I joined in April of 2009. RL friends said I should try SecondLife out, I’d love the building part of it because I was in to creating in a different game we played together. I liked being able to make my own furniture for my home here.
Of course there was so much more to SecondLife. So I decided to start selling my builds shortly after joining so I could have some money to buy nicer things, like hair or clothes to go out clubbing with said friends.
Now, building/creating is all I do, I don’t have time to “go out”. My building platform is pretty much the only place you will find me. lol
debil-skute-on-the-couch-w_-the-hot-cocoa
WHAT PRODUCTS DO YOU CREATE?
Original mesh home and garden furnitures that are interactive builds all with my own handmade animations along with home decor.

TELL US WHAT INSPIRES YOUR CREATIONS.
Usually it’s just me wanting something for my own use (again, pretty much what got me started in the business lol).
Occasionally I’ll see something in the real world and think “Yeah, I can totally do that” or me just wondering “What if I did this with that” kind of thing.

HOW DO YOU KEEP UP WITH THE LATEST TRENDS IN SECOND LIFE?
Well, I’m not really a trend “follower” per say and I’m not really even sure if furniture falls under a trend. So, I guess I don’t keep up with trends… might be something I’ll have to look into later. =)

WHAT IS YOUR MOST FAVORITE ITEM YOU HAVE EVER CREATED AND WHY?
Honestly, right now it has to be my 1 Li Grand Piano. I’m just so happy with the way it turned out with all the real 3d features and still only 1 Li.
I’m pretty happy with my generic piano playing animation as it mostly works with most songs and even matches up sometimes with the current song playing which tickles me.
I hope to make a concert version in the near future where the animation will perfectly match an entire piano piece or two.

DO YOU HAVE AN IN WORLD STORE? DO YOU MAINTAIN A PRESENCE ON THE SL MARKETPLACE?
I’ve had my original first store at Egglebury sim since 2009 and another larger store at Lionheart Timon since 2011.
I do have a marketplace store as well although I have way more stuff in world than there. Someday I’ll get it all on the webs lol.

IS THERE ANY ADVICE YOU WOULD GIVE TO A PERSON WHO IS STARTING OUT IN YOUR CHOSEN CAREER?
I guess I’d say do what you like, what interests you, what makes you happy. Don’t expect a huge return without lots of work first, you get out what you put in. And above all else… Have Fun! =)

AS YOU KNOW WE ARE ALWAYS GROWING AND LEARNING. IS THERE ANY ONE THING YOU WOULD LIKE TO TAKE THE TIME TO LEARN MORE ABOUT (SL or RL) AND WHY?
Right now I’m focusing on making better textures for my meshes. I think that I should be able to make them look nicer, more realistic, especially with the use of materials (which sadly, I actually just started to learn how to use). Along with improving my mesh making skills, there’s still so much to blender that I don’t know enough about.

IF YOU COULD HAVE DINNER WITH THREE FAMOUS PEOPLE FROM HISTORY, WHO WOULD THEY BE AND WHY?
Wow, what an interesting question. Is it all three at once or just pick three for a solo dinner date, really could change the answer. /grins
Guess I’ll just go with the one-on-ones….

1. George Washington – I’d really just like to know the whole truth about that cherry tree (can’t believe everything you read!).
2. Leonardo da Vinci – It would be really interesting to hear about what inspired him to make all his creations.
3. Nikola Tesla – Because.. Science. No really it would be really cool to hear him explain the “whys” of a lot of his stuff.

WHAT ONE WORD WOULD YOUR FRIENDS USE TO DESCRIBE YOU?
Diligent

happy-holidays-from-dekute-dekoreTELL US ABOUT YOUR SHOP AT THE EXPO. ARE YOU OFFERING ANY EXCLUSIVES AND IF SO, WHAT ARE THEY ?
I took this years theme to heart and planned on making several different living room type settings to enjoy for all those coming home for the holidays.
I made an exclusive 1 Li/Prim mesh living room with Christmas themed throw pillows for up to 4 people to sit around and enjoy some hot cocoa together (along with 17 other drinks).
I also have an exclusive Grand Piano that you can play 18 different Christmas Songs on for everyone to sing along with. It’s available in black or white and includes a removable Garland string with blinking lights and a Texture Change Bow.

WHAT IS SOMETHING WE CAN LOOK FORWARD TO IN 2017 FROM Dekute Dekore ?
I have so much planned, especially with the prim increase grid wide. I will always focus on low prim because that’s my thing. However, now I might be ok bumping it up to 2 or maybe even 3 Li (crazy.. I know!) so that I can add even more detail to my builds.
I have immediate plans for more kitchens, dining rooms and finally some bathrooms (all fully interactive of course)!

Visit Dekute Dekore at the SL Christmas Expo

