SL Christmas Expo Sponsor Spotlight – Ever An’ Angel

SL Christmas Expo Merchant Spotlight Interview with Ever Courtois of Ever An’ Angel

WE ARE DELIGHTED YOU CHOSE TO BECOME A 2016 SL CHRISTMAS EXPO SPONSOR! WHY DID YOU CHOOSE TO GET INVOLVED WITH RELAY FOR LIFE OF SECOND LIFE AND THE EXPO?
We are delighted to be here! Angel and I have participated in the SL Christmas Expo since 2013. I think. it’s something that is a big part of our in world Xmas experience and we look forward to it each year. Relay for Life is a huge cause for us, having both been touched by losses and struggles among family and friends from cancer. Angel herself is also a survivor having been diagnosed in 2014. Her treatment and prevalence further cemented our commitment to the cause.

WHAT ARE SOME ACTIVITIES OR THINGS YOU ARE LOOKING FORWARD TO AT THE 2016 SL CHRISTMAS EXPO & WINTER BREEDABLES FAIR?
Shopping! Our annual perusing the event gets us in the Christmas mood in so many ways. We are both as much excited by shopping it as we are by being in it. We ALWAYS wear ice skates and it’s a real event for us. You know we have been best friends for years now and while we do get together at least once or twice a year, to those of us in SL relationships and families of any kind – it is just as important to build those bonding traditions inworld as it is in RL. “EXPO” has become a very big part of that for us.

HOW LONG HAVE YOU BEEN IN SL? WHEN DID YOU OPEN YOUR BUSINESS?
I think we have both been in SL roughly a decade. WOW did I just say that? We met in 2010 and Ever An’ Angel opened in early 2011.

WHAT PRODUCTS DO YOU CREATE?
Women’s clothing, men’s clothing to some extent and also Tone cosmetics line. We also create a lot of general mayhem and chaos and I would have to say we count these among our most successful achievements. 🙂

TELL US WHAT INSPIRES YOUR CREATIONS.
First of all, color is HUGE for me. It has to speak to the fabric concept and to the mood, era and style of the designs. I seek to make clothing in SL a very immerse experience. I often say I am not done with an outfit component until I can “feel” it on me.

I derive a lot of my base ideas from what appeals in RL and also from the input of Angel, my long time muse, and our lead Model and dear friend ESSY Luv. Lately I note the styles and tastes of my staff members and good friends subliminally popping up in my work as well. It never starts out like that, it’s just something that pops up while I am creating – “ah, this looks like something __________ would wear….”

HOW DO YOU KEEP UP WITH THE LATEST TRENDS IN SECOND LIFE?
While I to seek to keep Ever An’ Angel designs current and fresh, I am not trendy. I don’t watch for the latest bend in the fashion road but rather what I see appeals to my own eyes. I think we have to trust our own instincts when “arting” or we fall prey to providing a service instead of creating and then we loose track of what makes us good at what we do.

My work has a stamp and that’s not just okay – it’s a good thing. I don’t expect it to be the only thing in anyone’s closet or the only thing they wear. When someone wears my brand it should suit that particular mood or event for them. I myself am often compelled to wear other designer’s styles from time to time because I want to wear someone else’s brush strokes for a change.

WHAT IS YOUR MOST FAVORITE ITEM YOU HAVE EVER CREATED AND WHY?
As of this time I am really enjoying my charity line of one of a kind Regency gowns. The first one for the Spoonful Of Sugar Festival to benefit MSF/Doctors Without Borders was a huge success in the auction and I have created a “Yule” version for the EXPO. Each is presented in the style of a Regency book cover, and that’s a lot of the fun too. It’s pure unapologetic fantasy to step into one of those books and I think we all want to put ourselves in the role of those heroines. Where can we if not in SL?

DO YOU HAVE AN IN WORLD STORE? DO YOU MAINTAIN A PRESENCE ON THE SL MARKETPLACE?
Yes we have a HUGE in world store. We suck at Market Place. I think we have a half dozen things there. We keep saying we need to be more present there but it just doesn’t happen!

IS THERE ANY ADVICE YOU WOULD GIVE TO A PERSON WHO IS STARTING OUT IN YOUR CHOSEN CAREER?
Oh yes.
Do it because you love the art. Be generous with your time, talents and energy but know your limits. You’re not helping anyone by saying “yes”, then ending up meaning “no” and not following through on commitments.
SL is a social platform. If your not here for the people then don’t put yourself in the middle of them by opening a business.

AS YOU KNOW WE ARE ALWAYS GROWING AND LEARNING. IS THERE ANY ONE THING YOU WOULD LIKE TO TAKE THE TIME TO LEARN MORE ABOUT (SL or RL) AND WHY?
SL: I am slowly learning to mesh.
RL: I am insatiably curious – the list is way too long.

IF YOU COULD HAVE DINNER WITH THREE FAMOUS PEOPLE FROM HISTORY, WHO WOULD THEY BE AND WHY?
Elizabeth Warren
HH the 14th (current) Dalai Lama
Jon Stewart

I admire them and want to know if they have good table manners.

ever-an-angel-century-wine

WHAT ONE WORD WOULD YOUR FRIENDS USE TO DESCRIBE YOU?
Ever: I don’t know you need to ask them 🙂

Angel: I would say the word to describe Ever is “dynamic”

TELL US ABOUT YOUR SHOP AT THE EXPO. ARE YOU OFFERING ANY EXCLUSIVES AND IF SO, WHAT ARE THEY ?
EVERYTHING we put in the expo is always exclusive for the duration of the event and is 50 to 100% for RFL The Annual Sheep themed PJS are only sold at the Expo then retired.
This year we have a gown, a cocktail dress and more. Also as stated above “Regency – Yule” gown will be our one of a kind contribution this year.

WHAT IS SOMETHING WE CAN LOOK FORWARD TO IN 2017 FROM EVER AN’ ANGEL?
Original Mesh designs, Omega Appliers for Tone Cosmetics possibly… and some other things we have up our sleeves we can’t talk about just yet 😉

Visit Ever An’ Angel at the SL Christmas Expo

